The four limits that matter
Almost every "free bank statement converter" is limited in one of four ways, and the limit is usually not on the page you land on.
- A cap: so many pages a day, a month, or a file size in megabytes. The cap is often only visible after the upload starts.
- An account: the converter is free, but the free tier needs an email, a login, or a card on file.
- A document type: the free tier handles digital PDFs and quietly fails, or returns an empty table, on a scan.
- An upload: the free tier is free because the file goes to a server, and the retention policy is a sentence you have to find.
Free tiers side by side
| Tool | What is free | The catch | OCR on the free tier | Where the file goes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WaveSpeed | Unlimited conversions, no account, no watermark | No bank-specific pages; OCR not stated; a side tool of an AI-image platform | Not stated | In the browser, per its page |
| AIAccountant | Unlimited, no sign-up, 25 MB and 300 pages | A list of 24 India banks plus a generic fallback; English only; scans rejected | No | In the browser, per its page |
| BankStatementConverter.com | A limited number of pages per 24 hours | The number is not stated and no price is published on the homepage | Not stated | Not stated |
| Parseur | 20 pages a month on the free plan; one standard statement at a time without an account | Large or multi-page statements need an account; paid tiers from 49 EUR a month | Yes | Uploaded |
| PDFTables | No free tier stated on its pricing page | $50 per 1,000 credits, and credits expire after a year | Not stated | Uploaded |
| StatementSheet | Free preview | The full export is $19 per batch of up to 12 statements | No | In the browser, per its page |
| Tabula | Free and open source | Text PDFs only, manual box selection, Java needed on Windows and Linux, last release shown as 2018 | No | Local |
| Satr | Whole-file preview; the first 15 rows download free | The full export is 3 USDT a file or 12 USDT for 30 days | No | In the browser; never uploaded |
Each row was read from the vendor's own page on 1 November 2026. "Not stated" means the page did not say, not that the feature is missing.
Where the free tools are better
- WaveSpeed costs nothing and states no page limit, which is hard to beat for an occasional text PDF.
- Tabula is open source: you can audit it, keep a copy, and run it with no company involved.
- AIAccountant keeps 300 pages of work in the browser for free and supports password-protected PDFs.
- Parseur includes OCR in its free allowance, one statement at a time, which none of the local tools here do.
- StatementSheet gives a free preview and then a flat $19 for up to 12 statements, cheaper than most monthly plans if you have a batch.
What Satr limits, honestly
- Fifteen rows. The free preview is the whole file processed, but only the first 15 transaction rows are shown in full and downloadable.
- No OCR. Scanned paper statements and photos are refused rather than half-read.
- No per-bank templates. The parser reads the text layer and you map the columns, so an unusual layout can need a fix in the mapper.
- No refunds. The preview is free, so the check happens before payment; payments are final after that.
- A single-file unlock is tied to that file's SHA-256, so it does not open a different PDF.
When 3 USDT makes sense
If a free tool reads your statement correctly, use it. Paying only makes sense when the free option stops: the statement is longer than the cap, the layout defeats a generic parser, the bank list does not include your bank, or you do not want the file on a server.
The alternatives at that point are usually a $15 to $20.30 monthly plan, a $129 desktop licence, or 3 USDT for the one file. Satr exists for the last case, and the 30-day pass at 12 USDT covers a month of statements without a renewal.
Questions
Is there a completely free bank statement converter?
Yes. WaveSpeed states unlimited free conversions, AIAccountant is free and local, and Tabula is open source. Each has the catch listed above: no stated OCR, a regional bank list, or manual table selection.
Why does Satr charge if other converters are free?
The preview is free and the full export is 3 USDT a file. The charge pays for a maintained parser, 13 interface languages and no account requirement. If a free tool handles your statement correctly, use it.
Do free converters upload my statement?
Some do and some say they do not. Satr, StatementSheet, WaveSpeed, AIAccountant and Tabula say the file is processed locally; for the others the page does not always say, which is itself the answer to plan around.
What exactly is free in Satr?
The whole file is processed on your device and the first 15 transaction rows are shown in full, with the total row and page count, and can be downloaded as CSV and XLSX without paying.
Are these limits still current?
They were read from each vendor's page on 1 November 2026. Free tiers change more often than paid ones, so check the linked page before relying on a number.